Maranoa Regional Council

Maranoa Regional Council
Foundation Member
Partner Regional Council

About Us

The Maranoa region is located in south west Queensland approximately 500km west of Brisbane. Covering an area of 58,830km and home to approximately 13,000 people, the region maintains a proud and productive agricultural industry which has been complimented with industrial expansion in the energy and tourism sectors.

Maranoa Regional Council was officially formed on March 15, 2008 as part of the Queensland Local Government Reform processes introduced by the Queensland State Government. The new Council area was established through the amalgamation of Roma Town Council, Bungil Shire Council, Bendemere Shire Council, Waroo Shire Council and Booringa Shire Council.

Towns in the Maranoa include Roma, Hodgson, Muckadilla, Injune, Eumamurrin, Bymount, Mitchell, Amby, Dunkeld, Mungallala, Surat, Begonia, Teelba, Wycombe, Wallumbilla, Yuleba, Jackson and Noonga.